“Aapka Bunty” – Mannu Bhandari – A Book Review

The serendipity of choice brought me this gem of a book from a colleague. I need motivation to read in Hindi, thanks to my dissociation from the language for a long time, partly due to lack of motivation, partly due to the self feeding cycle of finding it difficult to read since I haven’t read any in a long while. Anyhow, since I found the book and some time in my hand after a long while, I decided to dive in.

Mannu Bhandari, who I am discovering only now, must have had a deep understanding of child psychology, to be able to write a master piece as this. The fact that this was written in 1970 tells me the author was way ahead of her time, in thought, action (writing) and clarity.

The book deals with separation of a couple, heart wrenchingly told, shred by shred, through the eyes of their nine year old son, Bunty.

The reasons of separation are not mentioned, a huge plus point, because then the reader starts justifying one parent or the other. Their are hints towards the woman, a college principal, being independent, driven, ambitious and caring for self. I guess those would have been reasons enough for separation, given the patriarchal society that we are. There’s subtle hints towards her sexual desires, references towards societal apathy, remarriage and custodial rights, issues with child care.

The language is simple, readable but oh so impactful. Most of the sentences are from the child, so the sheer simplicity translates into tremendous impacts. The lessons/ learnings are too many. I was engrossed and could not keep the book down, wanting to know what would happen next.

I highly recommend the book for anyone who wishes to understand the dilemmas of an informed adult making a difficult choice and the psychology of the innocent bystander child in it all.

Disclaimer: This may be a very difficult read for single parents.

Priced at – INR 225

Leave a comment